Fragrance Review: Marc Jacobs – Daisy Eau so Fresh Spring

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Eau so Fresh isn’t my favourite iteration of Marc Jacobs Daisy, and I usually avoid yearly limited edition flankers… So, why did I even decide to test (and now, review) the ephemerous 2020 launch Daisy Eau so Fresh Spring?

In one word: matcha. As a fan of tea, a fragrance that might smell like a fresh, yummy matcha latte sounded too irresistible not to check out… So, I did.

“And?…”, you now ask me. Well…

Review

Daisy Eau so Fresh Spring has only 3 notes listed, but… yeah. No. They’re definitely not alone, and, to my nose, it feels like they were added to the original Daisy Eau so Fresh, instead. Of course, sharing accords with its pillar makes sense for a flanker (of a flanker). And, here, the mix does work well… for a while.

At first, Eau so Fresh Spring smells lovely. I do get the matcha, although not in a refined, realistic way; the note is a fluffy, delicate, milky impression of green tea – like a generously sweetened matcha latte frappuccino. This creamy-green accord melds smoothly with soft-focus hints of the original Daisy Eau so Fresh: powdery-sweet florals, whispers of fruity freshness, and some clean musk. The result is light, casual, and pretty, very Daisy, but with a unique personality within the line. At this stage, I like this fragrance almost as much as Daisy Dream, and if it stayed that way, I might even feel tempted to buy a bottle…

Alas, that doesn’t last. As minutes go by, the lovely “matcha latte” top accord slowly fades away, and the notes of the original Daisy Eau so Fresh grow stronger and clearer. The newly added pink pepper is nowhere to be found (at least, to my nose), but around the 1 hour mark, I smell watery-sweet litchi & pear, grapefruit, lots of raspberry & pale, dusty violets. It feels very much like wearing the original Daisy Eau so Fresh… which has nice notes, but in a combination I dislike. The fragrance then quickly fades away further into sweet powder, then musk, then, around 2-3 hours later, nothing.


Fragrance Impressions

Notes: (Top) Green tea flower; (Heart) matcha tea; (Base) pink pepper.

Colour Impression: Creamy Light Green.

Evokes: A cup of matcha latte, sweet fresh florals & raspberry-scented compact powder.

Similar to: Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau do Fresh; Giorgio Armani .

Season & Occasion: Spring, casual, daytime.


Conclusion

Daisy Eau so Fresh Spring opens slightly too sweet, but smooth and pleasant – a nice casual fragrance with a clear Daisy DNA and a charming twist of its own. Sadly, however, it quickly loses its unique personality, and dries down to “reveal” the original Daisy Eau so Fresh underneath the pretty but thin layer of novelty.

I enjoy the “matcha latte” impression for the little it lasts, and can’t say Daisy Eau so Fresh Spring is unpleasant… but, to me, the quick disappearing of this fragrance’s character feels disappointing. If you already own (or dislike) the original Daisy Eau so Fresh, I’m not sure this flanker is worth it. And if you’re looking for a matcha-themed scent… this is nice, but only for a while. I, mylsef, will keep looking elsewhere.


Leave a comment