Fragrance Review: Yves Saint Laurent – Libre

Rating: 4 out of 5.

When YSL Libre was released, in 2019, I couldn’t see what all the fuss was about. So many people seemed to love this fragrance, but all I could smell was a vague impression of a fizzy drink. I did like the bottle, and the idea of it featuring lavender, but found the actual scent underwhelming¹.

Then, a few weeks ago, I got a sample of Libre with another purchase. I was expecting it to smell boring (as I remembered), but, to my surprise… I liked it? A lot?!

Maybe my taste has changed a bit, maybe I finally got to pay attention to this fragrance’s softer nuances… One way or another: Libre, darling, I owe you an apology. 😉

Review

With Libre‘s focus on lavender (a relatively rare note in feminine fragrances), as well as vanilla, one might expect it to be similar to Guerlain Mon Guerlain; but these two fragrances actually smell very different.

Mon Guerlain presents a calming, sweet lavender, candied and harmoniously wrapped in warm, velvety vanilla – plus tonka and benzoin, creating the powdery-resinous-sweet Guerlinade. The scent feels almost cosmetic, feminine in a traditional, romantic and serene way.

Libre goes the opposite direction. After a tart, citrusy opening, its lavender comes forth as a fizzy, peppery blast. Along with a generous dose of ambergris / ambroxan², the effect is crisp and aromatic, almost barbershop-like. A fresh and fluffy vanilla, then, creates a couterpoint of prettiness – reinforced by delicate, citrusy-sweet orange blossom. This accord not only prevents the scent from smelling like aftershave, but actually manages to make the final effect very feminine – in a modern, bright and energetic way.

Libre‘s opening feels fruity, bubbly, softly sweet, and slightly artificial – which probably gave me the “fizzy drink” first impression. It does change and evolve, though, and to my nose, for better: slowly becoming smoother and gentler, almost powdery in the late drydown. I actually like all the stages of this fragrance, now (and appreciate how non-linear it is, for a modern launch).

Libre is an Eau de Parfum, and has pretty good sillage and lasting power. It was created by perfumers Anne Flipo and Carlos Benaim.


Fragrance Impressions

Notes: (Top) lavender, mandarin orange, black currant, petitgrain; (Heart) lavender, orange blossom, jasmine; (Base) Madagascar vanilla, musk, ambergris, cedar.

Colour Impression: Light Vanilla.

Evokes: A sunny day and an armful of lavender.

Similar to: Valentino Voce Viva (but much better!).

Season & Occasion: Year-round, very versatile. Perfect for spring and early autumn.


Conclusion

Light and unobtrusive, with a synthetic soft-fruity opening, Libre, at first, stroke me as forgettable. On a closer look, though, I was surprised by its pleasant, well-composed accords and unique character.

It’s fun to have an aromatic lavender & ambroxan-featuring scent that manages to smell so feminine and pretty, just as well as crisp and energetic – and that the resulting fragrance isn’t loud and challenging with those contrasts, but satiny-smooth, light and absolutely easy and pleasant to wear.

My only critic would be: the ambroxan (although really important to set Libre‘s character) sometimes comes off as a bit tiring to my nose, and I half-wished it weren’t so long-lasting… Still, I really like the fragrance as a whole!


¹ You may find me being less than enthusiastic about it in earlier posts.

² Ambroxan is a fuzzy, very clean synthetic note, more prominently used in masculine fragrances.


Leave a comment