Fragrance Review: Jean Paul Gaultier – Classique

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

I’ve never been a fan of Jean Paul Gaultier – the brand’s aesthetic doesn’t remotely resonate with me, and a quick sniff at their new pillar fragrance Scandal (which by now already has a couple of flankers) made me keep walking, with an unimpressed scoff. Up until now, I hadn’t even bother to test the brand’s famous main pillar, because, really… a good scent, coming from that ugly bottle?

But, recently, I’ve been discovering some beautiful 90’s gems like Chanel Allure and Hermès 24 Faubourg – and the second also sparked my interest in orange blossom, which I used to dislike. So… I thought I should finally give JPG a chance, and try a spray from that tacky glass torso.

And, well, I say… this fragrance smells really good!

Review

Jean Paul Gaultier Classique (originally called Jean Paul Gaultier. I like the change, it’s shorter and prettier) is an Eau de Toilette created by perfumer Jacques Cavallier¹ and first released in 1993. It was conceptually developed by Jean Paul Gaultier himself, to re-create (as he stated) the scents of powder, the theater, and a hint of nail polish remover.

Yes, I had finally got round to ignore the bottle, and he almost lost me again as I pre-searched a bit and read nail polish remover. JPG really didn’t help me out here.

But I’m glad I didn’t give up, after all, as the dreaded note makes a short, loud screech at the opening, then swiftly (and thankfully!) vanishes into the background. I see no point in adding a jumpscare in a perfume, but well…

What does stay and takes center stage, however, is lovely. Rich, honeyed orange blossom and powdery iris, creating a distinct make-up vibe; warm, mellow spicyness of star anise and ginger; a soft juicy freshness, from yummy plum; and, since we’re listing yummy notes, a pretty, creamy vanilla. There’s still a hint of that silly, harsh “nail polish” accord, which I’d prefer to see gone, but it is muted – and I must admit… it does contribute to create the super “make up-y” impression of the composition.


Fragrance Impressions

Notes: (Top) Orange blossom, rose, pear, mandarin, bergamot, star anise; (Heart) iris, orchid, ylang ylang, tuberose, ginger, plum; (Base) Amber, sandalwood, vanilla, cinnamon, musk.

Colour Impression: Peachy pink.

Evokes: An Old Hollywood diva’s boudoir, in romantic peach tones.

Similar to: Elie Saab Le Parfum; Lancôme Poême.

Season & Occasion: Perfect for autumn, but works well into winter and spring.


Conclusion

Reading reviews, I’ve seen this scent be compared to what you imagine the vanity of a vintage diva would smell like – and, to me, the image is spot-on! Powder puffs, hairspray, flower bouquets, fragrances, satin cushions, a box of candies, lipstick, feather boas, and, yes, even a couple of pink nail polish bottles… it’s all there. And it’s fabulous, darling!

JPG Classique defintely deserves its spot as a true… well, classic. It’s a bit loud and synthetic before the drydown, yes, but also complex, evocative and charming. It makes you feel just a bit like an over-the-top romantic 1930’s-50’s diva, while still being wearable enough to fit a much less dramatic daily routine – a balance that’s hard to pull off.

I’m glad I’ve finally tried this fragrance, as it truly surprised me for better. And, you know, after smelling it and getting such a nice, fun, glamourous impression… I think even the ugly bottle is starting to grow on me.


¹ Who also developed other huge 90’s classics Issey Miyake L’Eau d’Issey and Lancôme Poême.