Fragrance Review: Chloé – Nomade (EdT)

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

I know, I’m late. Nomade has already received an Absolu¹ version early this year, but I’m still here, reviewing the Eau de Toilette. I’ll try to catch up soon, though.

Meanwhile, I’m wearing my sample of Nomade Eau de Toilette and, I’m happy to report, enjoying it a lot!

Review

Launched in 2019, Nomade Eau de Toilette was created by the perfumer Quentin Bisch, who also composed the original Eau de Parfum. I’ve praised Nomade for being a modern scent, while keeping the – now, extremely rare – green and earthy feel of a real classical chypre. Its composition feels original, well-balanced and charming.

The Eau de Toilette keeps a very recognizable Nomade DNA – with a few subtle tweaks. The mirabelle plum is replaced by litchi, just as juicy, but sweeter, with an almost velvety texture and no green nuances. The freesia is still strong, but less sparkly and sharp. While original Nomade’s freesias are growing on a wild field, the Eau de Toilette’s feel like they’ve come from a garden – a rustic english garden, with a very natural feel… but a garden nonetheless.

And, last but far from least, there’s the oakmoss.

The oakmoss is the soul of Nomade, what gives it its unique, earthy-inky character – but, I admit, it’s also the element I personally find… more difficult. It’s beautiful and interesting, but also a bit harsh. In Nomade Eau de Toilette, the oakmoss is still very much there – but its strength (in the original, reinforced by a rough, slightly herbal patchouli) is notably softened. So it almost feels like a watercolour rendition of the note.

This fragrance’s sillage is nice, but I’ve personally found its lasting power underwhelming, even for an Eau de Toilette. Still, it’s ok if you don’t mind reapplying, or even a good thing if you want to change your perfume later in the day.


Fragrance Impressions

Notes: (Top) litchi; (Heart) freesia; (Base) oakmoss.

Colour Impression: Almond beige.

Evokes: The morning breeze over a rustic garden with flowers and fruits.

Similar to: Chloé Nomade.

Season & Occasion: Spring-Summer, daytime.


Conclusion

Compared to the original Nomade, the Eau de Toilette feels airier, sweeter and rounder, and plushier in texture, with its mossy aspect faded in pale tones. It still feels very chypre, but in a fruitier way and even more modern than the original. So it has less presence, and I’d say, also a bit less character – yet, I’ve found it easier to wear.

And, seeing this balance of “pros & cons”, I think this fragrance is a welcome, relevant addition to the Nomade line. It feels clearly recognizable as Nomade, yet paints the same picture in a softer style, with a different palette – a gentler one, which is perfect for an Eau de Toilette.

I still find the original a bit more striking, and more interesting from the artistic point of view… yet, the Eau de Toilette is lovely, and, for daily wear, I might choose it over the Eau de Parfum.


¹ I’ve given it a quick sniff, and athough I’ll surely give it a fair chance and re-test it before writting my review… I’m afraid I sense the typical loud-and-flat “intense” problem again….


2 thoughts on “Fragrance Review: Chloé – Nomade (EdT)

Leave a comment